I’m Back From the Unconnected

Peace be with you

It has been a while since I was on-line. I can’t say I really missed it, but, then again, if I really didn’t miss it why am I here now? I guess I still have some shit to say.

Since you last heard from me a lot of shit happened. The first was on October 2nd. It was a hot day, and I had found some work. After working all day I went to the Co-Op to get some organic food. While I was doing my daily shopping, and unknown to me at that time, I had picked up a tail. The guy in the front of the photo, a “security officer,” also unknown at the time, was profiling me. Now I don’t know why after ten years of shopping at the Co-Op they would suddenly get it in their heads that I am a thief, but that is exactly what they did.

What had apparently happened was that while being followed through the store, I pulled my money out to see if I had enough to make additional purchases from their establishment, and they took that as me thieving something. I checked out not aware that the management was all in an excitement to ambush me on my way out of the store. As I exit the fuck in the picture lifts up his shirttail and flashes what looks like a cop badge, and says, “see this badge?” “What did you put in your pocket?” Now I’m confused. What the fuck is a cop doing waiting for me outside the Co-Op?

I empty my pockets to prove to the fuck I wasn’t the droid he was looking for. He, then satisfied, marches back into the store, leaving me with my pockets emptied in front of the entire town. Never identifying himself as a Co-Op “security officer,” he didn’t even thank me for allowing him to abuse me, nor apologize.

I’m more than a little miffed at this point. My brain was starting to work again and I realized what had just happened – I was profiled, falsely accused, and made to believe I was facing a cop, by the fucking CO–OP! I marched back into the store and made badge dude show me his badge again. Though I left the Co-Op laughing my ass off about Mr. plastic badge, I have never been back. I bought damn near all my food there. I bought coffee every morning I could afford it there. And a lot of my friends shop there too.

It doesn’t seem that the Co-Op turned out to be what they originally claimed to be creating. Once the Co-Op was a meeting place, that practiced altruism, and community spirit. They went from a community space to a little yellow “freespeech zone.” From donating 3% of their profits to charity, to taking credit for giving what you donate at the checkout. They went from giving food out the backdoor, and supporting Food Not Bombs out the front, to locked dumpsters. They went from acceptance of differences of community members, to cop impersonating security guards profiling hippies. They went from promoting community morals to renting from Rob Arkley. They went from promoting from within to hiring big city corporate managers. And they went from a cooperative to a co-opted corporate interest who put profits before people.

Every member of the Co-Op should never again talk about how stockholders should be held responsible for the corporate abuses their stockholding allows. It is as if each and every one of you had a hand in profiling me because of my dreads, tiedye, or what ever bullshit Mr. tin badge used in your name. If your are the coolest of a predominantly cool community then physician heal thyself.

I know it is a pain in the ass to boycott a store, but that reluctancy to action is exactly why nothing changes, and in fact keep getting worse. I do know that Eureka Natural Foods is cheaper, and they dress their security guards as security guards, not police detectives.

Four or five years ago Safeway did the same bullshit to me. I stripped damn near naked to prove my innocence in that one. Even though that security guard was fired over that shit, I still haven’t been back in Safeway. I doubt that the worlds biggest grocery store is going to change its policies very easy, but the local so-called Co-Op might just come around if enough people would give a shit. Otherwise maybe it is time to start a Cooperative, or two, or a dozen.

love eternal
tad

24 Responses to “I’m Back From the Unconnected”

  1. humbodlturtle Says:

    you been gone?

  2. nick bravo Says:

    They have a lot of homeless, hippies, hipsters, and the like shoplift. They also keep extensive records of shoplifters and are vigilant about it. So I don’t blame them for having undercover security.

    Also, the food gallery as they call it will be demolished and used for display. Thus no homeless, or anyone else, will have a place to eat or drink inside the co-op.

  3. nick bravo Says:

    I’ll also point out that the co-op has a real problem with those homeless, hipsters, hippies and the like hanging out in front of the store begging for change. The co-op is a business and the number one goal is to make money by providing products to people willing to pay for them. They are not a charity, and are not obligated to tolerate low class people and low class behavior.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Wow, a store should have clearly seen illegal activity before confronting you. If I were in your place, I would have continued walking from the store. If they laid a hand on me, I’d call 9-1-1 and report an assault, and if they tried to detain me, I’d file a lawsuit, and write some cordial letters to the editor about thuggish behavior. Store security are not the police and they don’t have legal grounds to force you to do anything. The only power they have is the power to create fear.

  5. nick bravo Says:

    what’s sad is that people who choose homelessness as a “lifestyle” don’t want to be stereotyped and want to act surprised when they are treated like human garbage. When I was homeless I did all I could to keep clean and be productive, I didn’t whine about all the supposed injustices. And yes, a lot of the co-op employees and customers are sick of all the homeless pandhandlers hanging around the co-op.

    • theplazoid Says:

      Peace be with you Nick

      Hahahahahahahahahaha. I guess I should of read further, now I see your a “Golden Child.” Got poverty pimped off the streets did you. You stole from wildberrys, and then have the fucking nerve to come on here and attack me to pay-back your poverty pimp handlers. Get a fucking life.

      love eternal

  6. fig Says:

    welcome back.

    oct. 30 SAT. 2010…….

  7. Tom Sebourn Says:

    A sheriff in Colorado said he would no longer evict people from their homes when the banks asked him to. He did a study and found that out of 350 home foreclosures in his county, only 17 had the proper paperwork from the banks. People in banks wear suits. Should all people in suits be profiled as grand thieves? We’re not talking about something that fits in a pocket, we are talking about 100’s of thousands of dollars! I guess what I’m saying here is just because you wear tie-dye or a suit, doesn’t mean you are a thief.

    Welcome back Tad.

  8. nick bravo Says:

    Hey Tad, why are you telling homeless people like Brent that they need to get guns and defend themselves against the police? He’s got enough problems without you trying to get them into fights with cops. I’ve talked to several local homeless and they are not to fond of you.

    • theplazoid Says:

      Peace be with you Nick

      I know you are referring to the day, at the bus stop, when I was telling Brent to get the fuck away from me and stay the fuck away from me for even bringing up guns. Now you’re twisting it around and repeating over and over again. Why? Provocateur? Wingnut? Feddy snitch? Let’s see, what kind of hair cut do you got? a cops?

      My beliefs are, were, and always will be those of a pacifist. What your ease dropping heard was me rubuking someone who wanted to talk to me about non-pacifist beliefs. Don’t get guns. Not if your “homeless” like you, Houseless, like Brent, or the rest of those mortgage/rent paying so-called housed people. That is what I say now and that is what I said then.

      love eternal
      tad

  9. nick bravo Says:

    I never stole from wildberries. I was accused of it and banned but they have a history of persecuting the poor. It happened, its unfair, its not right but there’s no use losing sleep over it.

  10. nick bravo Says:

    No Tad, I wasn’t eavesdropping. Brent was telling me about what happened and I asked around. It seemed odd to me that a so called pacifist was telling people to get guns and fight cops. Course Brents not the sharpest knife in teh drawer but when I asked around it was clear that there is a disinformation campaign going on about you. I suggest you consider the other “houseless” you hang with, cuz some of them may not have your best interests at heart.

    • theplazoid Says:

      Peace be with you

      First I don’t hang with you! Second I don’t hang with Brent since He said he “was going to get a gun to defend himself.” Fuck you both! I want nothing to do with your fucking violent rhetoric! I have YOU! fucking spreading a “disinformation campaign!”

      Fuck you! Fuck your revisionist history! And, fuck you “disinformation campaign!” I know who I am. Both friend and foe know who I am. Yet you and Hoover love to make up shit about me.

      I know Brent goes around complaining about anyone who doesn’t see eye to eye with his delusions. I know that he makes shit up and exaggerates shit. We’ve all seen it thousands of times. We know that about Brent. I will not and have not discuss arming yourself with anyone, ever. I do not believe in it!

      When assholes like you put your fear before your love, you arm yourselves, and create more fear to replace more love. Armed revolution never worked out for the poor – ever! The poor will only benefit by an egalitarian society, and guns are counter to egalitarian. Anytime anyone wins an armed revolution the first fucking words out of their mouths is “off with their heads.” And, if you think about the way you sell out one side for the other, and then the other for the one, it wouldn’t bode well for you.

      On a cloud will come a lamb, and truth will be its weapon. No guns can ever defeat it!

      love eternal
      tad

  11. Joe Says:

    Welcome back, Tad. Stay connected, and in good spirits and health. Peace.

  12. David Lippman Says:

    Tad – Sorry that you were stopped in error at the Co-op. We have, indeed, contracted with a loss prevention firm to help with the very large problem that the Co-op has with store theft. The loss prevention officers observe people’s actions, and that is what instigates a stop; you yourself mention reaching into your pocket which might have been misconstrued as putting something into your pocket. Please know that their attention is based upon shoppers’ behavior, not their appearance. The vast majority of shoppers who are stopped and detained are NOT those who might be stereotypically thought of as “the homeless”. There is a surprisingly broad range of socio-economic types who have been caught stealing and had their shopping privileges revoked. You have always been welcome at the Co-op and continue to be welcome at any time. Again, I apologize for the stop; I sincerely wish that everyone stopped was innocent like you and that there was not a need for store security in a community owned store.
    David Lippman
    Co-op General Manager

    • Mark Sailors Says:

      As a supporter of the CO-OP and the community, i would suggest that you get REAL security. Someone that is trained, and has a guard card, or you could be looking at huge lawsuits. Anyone that operates as a security guard in California MUST have a “guard card”. It does not matter if you call them “loss prevention”. They carry “badges” and operate as security, therefor they must have all of the credentials that a “security guard” has.

      PS
      If your “guard” puts his hands on someone, and it get ugly and physical, and the “guard” does not have a valid guard card it is the CO-OP that is going to be sued into the ground.

      PPS
      You should also try to tell the “security guards” that they need to look into how to be more covert, and to look up the meaning of DISCRETE.

    • Mark Sailors Says:

      It is also a crime to use the police as a threat. I have it on good authority that when the co-op stops someone for shoplifting, the “security guards” present the “offender” with the choice of paying the co-op a $300.00 “ticket” and be permanently banned, or having the police called.

      This is a crime.
      This is called extortion.
      Done by a group of more than 3 people it is RICO.
      RICO is a federal crime, The Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (commonly referred to as RICO Act or RICO) is a United States federal law that provides for extended criminal penalties and a civil cause of action for acts performed as part of an ongoing criminal organization. RICO was enacted by section 901(a) of the Organized Crime Control Act of 1970 (Pub.L. 91-452, 84 Stat. 922, enacted October 15, 1970). RICO is codified as Chapter 96 of Title 18 of the United States Code, 18 U.S.C. § 1961–1968. While its intended use was to prosecute the Mafia as well as others who were actively engaged in organized crime, its application has been more widespread.

      Just Sayin’

    • Mark Sailors Says:

      This article may contain original research. Please improve it by verifying the claims made and adding references. Statements consisting only of original research may be removed. More details may be available on the talk page. (August 2009)

      Although some of the RICO predicate acts are extortion and blackmail, one of the most successful applications of the RICO laws has been the ability to indict or sanction individuals for their behavior and actions committed against witnesses and victims in alleged retaliation or retribution for cooperating with federal law enforcement or intelligence agencies.

      Violations of the RICO laws can be alleged civil lawsuit cases or for criminal charges. In these instances charges can be brought against individuals or corporations in retaliation for said individuals or corporations working with law enforcement. Further, charges can also be brought against individuals or corporations who have sued or filed criminal charges against a defendant.

      Anti-SLAPP (strategic lawsuit against public participation) laws can be applied in an attempt to curb alleged abuses of the legal system by individuals or corporations who utilize the courts as a weapon to retaliate against whistle blowers, victims, or to silence another’s speech. RICO could be alleged if it can be shown that lawyers and/or their clients conspired and collaborated to concoct fictitious legal complaints solely in retribution and retaliation for themselves having been brought before the court.

    • transient Says:

      dear David Lippman: please eat your own bullshit and choke.

      No no no, of COURSE the security guard wasn’t profiling tad! As tad said, “he put his hands in his pockets.” So OBVIOUSLY suspicious! I’m sure that you stop and humiliate EVERYONE WHO PUTS THEIR HANDS IN THEIR POCKETS while inside the co-opt, because that’s SUSPICIOUS BEHAVIOR, and it’s because of that suspicious behavior that tad was stopped and searched and humiliated!

      Fuck you, Mr. Lippservice. Eat shit and die. And get the fuck out of THE COMMUNITY’S co-op – you have no place there.

    • theplazoid Says:

      peace be with you

      Fuck you, as Transient says! What about my behavior made them follow me! I know he was following me because I went two steps into an isle and turned around and you should of seen the guilty fucking look in his eyes. I was profiled the second I went into your store! What is it with my behavior? The fact I spent thousands of dollars supporting your pseudo-safeway over the years.!

      I point this out to people when I speak to them, and now I’ll explain it to the world! In any English dictionary there are words that start with coop, and there are words that start with co-op. With the exception of “cooper” words, the coop words are words like cooperate, cooperation, and cooperative. The co-op words start with co-opt, co-ordinal, and co-ordinate. This brings us to the name of your coporation – the CO——OP. YOU ARE NOT WHAT YOU CLAIM TO BE!!!!!!!!!!

      You have given all the money I spent at your store to some other community member. The reason to have a Cooperative is to have another choice besides safeway, but if it is really just a high priced safeway, then what has it gained the community. Many of my friends are now shopping elsewhere also. Some because of what yu did to me, and many because of what you did to them. Don’t pretend like I am the only innocent person you’ve embarrassed in your doorway. I know a lot of people with dreads who have the same complaint as I did.

      love eternal
      tad

  13. Anonymous Says:

    wow, tad, nick, transient, Mr. sebourn, come on terrance, the water is fine, jump on in.

  14. JoJo Says:

    They don’t mind a hoot if you and the posse never return, there’s nothing more to give or take but problems real or imagined.

  15. Mr. Nice Says:

    Take yourself down to Chautauqua if you want weirdo-free shopping bruh bruh.

    $3 each way to get down to the land but the $20 pass turns into $2 and then you end up having to pay $1. Them things are some bullshit.

Leave a Reply

