link to lawsuit concerning wrongful death at Bar-O Boys Ranch

link to lawsuit concerning wrongful death at Bar-O Boys Ranch…click here

Bar-O Boys Ranch is the privately owned, county-funded youth detention facility. The county pays this private business to force kids to work in a boot-camp setting for no pay (no pay for the kids, that is…someone’s making some money). Tad commented at the January 27th County Supervisors meeting on the wrongfulness of the county using child slave-labor, in a system easily corrupted, with a precedent set for corruption and abuse (see the previous post for link to rueters story about corrupts judges), and a questionable death having already happened. He was promptly arrested afterwards. For more details about the arrest, see previous posts.

 

37 Responses to “link to lawsuit concerning wrongful death at Bar-O Boys Ranch”

  1. Love And Oneness Says:

    The Double Standard

    We are rightfully upset when someone has sex with an underage child, a good friend of mine was molested, and she had a very hard time dealing with sexual issues as an adult, but convienently the military industrial complex makes no rule forbiding pushing violence on minors. In fact, “the rule of law” conviently has created “Corporate Personhood”, giving constitutional rights to corporations, which have billions of dollars and can last for centuries, which puts us at a grave disadvantage. Not only can they hire lots of lawyers to pervert The Constitution, but they can bribe politicians, then create mass media to create ways that these politicians can talk themselves into believing they are entitled.

    Young people’s brains aren’t fully formed, and can not make informed decisions. The US signed a treaty that said people under 18 can’t fight in wars. The military created a loophole by enlisting children, making it a felony for these to change their minds when they turned 18. Eureka and Arcata voted in ordinaces to require the military only enlist adults. The Corporate Courts ruled that Unconstitional. How conveinent.

    These boot camps also create BACK DOOR RECRUITMENT OF CHILDREN. We have created a culture of cruelty. Anyone who becomes angry after abuse is likely to not think, teenagers especially. Their PTSD is going to, in a significant percentage of kids going to create a strike back mentality, where they are more likely to get into violent situations without thinking about it, by joining the military or voting for unjust war. All this is orchestated by greedy selfish people with plenty of money to pay off selfish, self-entitled politicians.

  2. R.T. Says:

    As far as Bar-o is concerned, I would recommend that for those of you who have no clue as to the real working of the place, please STFU! more morons babbling about things that you have no idea of. you don’t know the place, the facility, the staff, the kids, the families, etc..

    Nobody is abused there, it is not a boot camp setting, it’s more of a summer camp setting. it is of course a “correctional” facility but summer camp is the closest thing that i would compare to. kids at the ranch learn not only very important inter personal skills, the learn potential job skills, and how to deal with their own emotional issues. do the kids work sometimes? of course they do. they split firewood, they shovel snow etc. but it’s a far cry from a labor camp. and most of the money made from their work goes into facility improvements and activities for the kids.

    so before you judge, learn the facts. and before you assume that I am mis informed, please understand that i spent 18 months there as a kid. and I fully support this place and their dedicated staff.

    • miguel Says:

      For sure. Im here looking for follow ups because i was once a bunkie there. I was there from 1994-’96. I was sent there for carjacking, armed robbery n vilations. This placechanged my life after i got out. Im 34 now n im a successful contracto. Staff n teachers are very dedicated. Best institution i was ever in i even visited the place years after i got out n spoke w the youth.

      • Rod Bayer Says:

        Miguel,
        Warms my heart to see that you are healthy & happy.
        I think that those of us who actually know what the heck
        We’re talking about & know Bar-0 for what it is.
        If there were more camps like Bar-0, It would have an
        Exponential impact on the problems associated with
        Juvenile crime. “Making makers out of takers” is
        What we used to call it. Watching kids become men
        Is was a very great pleasure, It had a positive effect on
        my own sons too as we lived on camp for several years.
        I have lots of stories. Say hello to Robert & your Dad for me.
        Amigos por vida, Mr. Bayer

  3. transient Says:

    ok R.T., I can give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you are honest. That, however does not discount the the accounts of others. Not only did someone die there, but another person who was in a similar place had nothing good to say about those places.

    Would you compare jail to a “summer camp” as well?

    Do I have to go there to have an opinion on incarcerating kids and forcing them to work? Do I have to go to a prison to know that people are abused there?

    Maybe you should give this issue a little more thought. Was your success there due to the wonderful place and staff, or more to your own internal desire to turn your life around?

  4. gary ewing Says:

    i was placed in the BAR-O BOYS RANCH at the age of 15, I was there 11 months and I walked away from the program and was sent to juvenile hall and then the california youth authority.
    Bar-O is a summer camp type setting. We received day passes, vacations home and on the weekends we go to various places, rivers, ymca, movie theatres…etc. Many adults wish they had such pleasures.. amazing food, exercise, on site swimming hole, free education (school) and shop class.
    My younger brother was at Bar-O when the young man died, we both attended the funeral as well as boys incarcerated in Bar-O.
    On many occasions we were forced to run an extra lap or do an extra sets of fitness because we were lagging and dragging our feet. Thousands of boys survived and 1 kid died…why? bronchial asthma. its sad and a shame it wasnt caught in time but you cannot blame Bar-O

  5. gary ewing Says:

    ….btw, yes we were paid… 33 cents a day and an extra dollar a day if we were in the “basics of work” class which rotated with school and shop. basics of work included, building picnic tables, clearing brush and trees.

  6. BIlly ball Says:

    I spent eight months there at bar o. There was nothing normal about that experience. I acually for years later wake up sweating having weird nightmeres. I graduated with my green shirt just before christmas and a horrible storm hit. We worked eight to ten hour days with all hand tools cutting grass bush huge trees and with no safty gear what so ever.we were made too work hard or we were threaten with streanous physical training. There was no electrical use for the boys. No phone no visits no outide contact limited toilet times forced too eat all your food fast. Too wright a letter cost you a half day wages. Forced too use the seventy five cents a day wage to buy soap hygien shoes gloves cards paper pencile tooth bruh and forced to live such a streanous life style that when i left i wasnt better i was lost and terrified.

  7. BIlly ball Says:

    by the way. when after a terrible day on the monie truck tward the end of loading i got a wood splinter in my eye ball. Mind you i recived no medical attention. I sufferd without oprpriate eye wash no rinse. I was in terrible pain and after a shower and forced to tuff it out all day i was allowed by the counslers too rinnse my eye for a few minutes before i had too sit in my bunk and lights out. Hard to think a fifteen year old child should be miss treated like that. I really feel bad for those who must be there now.

  8. Bobo Says:

    Billy Ball (and others), you brought up reasonable concerns.

    You can voice your concerns with the Del Norte Juvenile Justice Commission who look into and inspect Bar-O. Their numbers are:

    Paul Dillard, Chairperson
    #(707) 218-8100

    John Wilson, Vice-Chairperson
    #(707) 464-1971

    Mary Jo Duncan, Secretary
    #(707) 464-4505

    Also, you can contact the Prison Law Office in San Francisco at:
    #(510) 280-2621.

    Their Director is Donald Specter, his number #510-280-2621.

  9. BIlly ball Says:

    thank you for yoiur response and information. I assume your requesting that I contact the board with my experience at bar o boys ranch.thank you much! I must also coment (to whom this may concern) that my only intrerst is thi s legal issue pertaining to the death of the young man. That my prayers and best of wishes go to the family of the eleged victom/victoms. also to the Smith family for there dedication and ultamite sacrafice for helping young men at the boys ranch.

  10. juegos online rol Says:

    juegos online rol…

    […]link to lawsuit concerning wrongful death at Bar-O Boys Ranch « The PLAZOID[…]…

  11. Rod Says:

    Young Mr Lucchesi’s death was certainly tragic nothing can
    relieve a family’s pain after something so wounding.
    Question is: how did he get there in the first place?
    I was a counselor there at Bar-O for about five years
    in the early 90’s after having
    worked in CDC & CYA, after that Oregon YA, Florida YA
    Program Manager for Pre-Trial Release Brevard Co. Florida.
    BAR-O is as family friendly as it gets.
    I used to chastise the administration for kissing inmate ass.
    I know the director at the time would NEVER allow ANY child
    to be abused.
    Bar-O is family., kids & adults.
    You want to piss & moan?
    Try CYA camp or just maybe, Be a MAN.
    Bar-O is summer camp.
    PS: Kent, “Time wounds all heels”, just ask Todd.

  12. Anonymous Says:

    R.T. & Gary Ewing are correct.
    Bar-O.
    A Labor camp?
    Check yourself before you
    Wreck yourself.
    If I had an at risk kid,
    I would be blessed to have him there.
    I just got off of the phone with the new director.
    We worked together in the early 90’s at Bar-O.
    Neither he or the former director, Al Smith
    Would allow a kid to be abused at that camp.
    Ewing & transient should get a clue.
    Go occupy a real prison camp then,
    Reflect on Bar-O.
    Why do people reflect on Bar-O
    Like it’s Heaven.
    Because that’s how we’d like to be treated
    In Heaven.

  13. plr ebook Says:

    plr ebook…

    […]link to lawsuit concerning wrongful death at Bar-O Boys Ranch « The PLAZOID[…]…

  14. Anonymous Says:

    I was also at bar o I spend I spent 20 months there due to my sentencing of a 2 year minimum for 2nd degree arm robbery I got to bar o knowing I had issues buh their they help u talk about those problem and deal with them in a non violent way I hated being there yes buh not cause of the ppl or the work out buh because I seen kids coming ang leaving buh they always made sure to help u with that problem I never once spoke bad about anything about the place when I got out cause it helped me realize a lot about myself ima 20 years old now I got out when I was 18 I never been in trouble since I always think about going back maybe to be a counselor or just to go I would leav a name buh I’m sure if any staff reads this they’ll know who this is I can’t explain how much it helped me till this genuine ppl mr T Thas my boy mrs Munuz Kearney ms kay mr n mrs burrow thanku all mr lopez Baxter mr valley mr Hernandez table 2 champs

  15. Steven Fowler Says:

    I too was a “Bar O Bunky” (76) I owe a lot of credit to Bar O Boys Ranch, Mr.Ken Ward, Mr. Alan Smith and many others. People talk about how bad it is there and some talk about how good it is, back up people, why are the kids there in the first place?? There not angels. There thieves, liars, disrespectful human beings, kids that either got missed with the love and family life that helps one get through life, it happens.. Bar O Boys Ranch is the last place for a young person to learn some values and respect for themselves and others before becoming an adult. Theirs no Bar O MANS Ranch for adults, its called Prison… People who rip on Bar O have no idea what its like to have a child that’s out of control. What do you want? Whats your idea of a perfect place for kids who would steal from you, lie to you for any reason, beat the crap out of your child and walk away and go get a ice cream. What other place has helped as many kids as Bar O Boys Ranch? And for as many years as Bar O Boys Ranch has. Remember this, Bar O Boys Ranch is a non-lock down facility, it has no cells, no perimeter fences. Where would you send your kid who fell into these cracks if you had to send him somewhere? I’m now 53 years old. I owe a lot of it to Bar O Boys Ranch for the respect and values I learned there when I was a 16 year old troubled kid.

  16. kendra Says:

    my son is at bar o please tell me if hes ok

    • James Says:

      kendra, your son is fine. I was there when the new director was just a councilor and he would rather feel pain himself than let a boy get hurt. They offer council and life experience to the boys. the boys have school, food, clothes, counseling, and the staff really care. I have kept in touch with the staff throughout my life since then(18 years ago). I joined the Marine Corps, have a 2 year degree, and a wonderful family. The things I learned there even helped me deal with PTSD. Don’t worry too much. Your boy is in good, loving hands.

    • JW Says:

      I will second what James says. I was there in 1975 when the director was a night shift counselor working on his college degree. At the time Mr Ward was the director. I was there from May until October and even worked at the Rowdy Creek fish hatchery when it was being built in nearby Smith River. Everyone had responsibilities and it helped make responsibile adults out of all the boys. There was work to be done but also a lot of recreational activities for everyone. It was kind of like being a member of a family farm. It was some of the best six months of my childhood and going there was probably the best thing to happen to me during during my teen years.

  17. enagic kangen water Says:

    Hi there very nice blog!! Guy .. Excellent ..
    Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?
    I am satisfied to find a lot of useful information here
    in the publish, we want work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  18. Anonymous Says:

    Baro is gay

  19. Bayer Says:

    This one is for Tadpole,
    At Bar-0, you have the opportunity to learn
    some simple truths about life.
    An important one being THAT
    life is based on rewards & consequences.
    Bottom line here is that,
    “YOU CAN’T HANDLE THE TRUTH”!!!!!!!!!!!
    – Bayer

  20. Gary Ewing Says:

    I see that people are still commenting on this thread, years later. I enjoy seeing that people have spoke up in defense of Bar-O. Bar-O is still open and although the attendance is low I believe they are still helping young men and changing their lives.
    Currently My old counselor Mr. Burrows is the administrator and that makes it even the better. I was there in 96-97. I now have 2 young boys, I can honestly say that Bar-O has such a positive impact on young mens lives that I wish my kids could spend 6 months there. You heard me right. Bar-O is not represenitive of any criminal facility I have ever seen. Like it was said before. Bar-O is more like a summer camp.
    I hope more positive comments come out of this thread and the false accusations go away.

    • Jack Williamson Says:

      I agree with you. I spent 4 months there myself in the summer of 1975 when Mr Ward was the administrator and it made a change in my life as well. I think a lot of boys could benefit from what they have to offer. Seems like everyone is listening to one individual that probably couldn’t adjust and make the changes that he needed make to get is act together and decided to be vindictive and tell a bunch of lies. It’s unfortunate about what happened to the kid that died, but Bar-O is in a secluded place and if you don’t know about someone’s medical condition, things like that can happen. I have a hunch if they had known about his medical condition the authorities wouldn’t have sent him there at all because of it’s secluded location.
      Bar-O does have a summer camp type environment but that is not to say the boys there don’t have to work and earn there way out of there. I’m not talking about physical labor either, I’m talking about getting your inter-self together and becoming a functioning/productive individual of society instead of remaining the screw-ups that we went in there as. For the individuals that don’t know anything about Bar-O, the place is closer to being like a private military academy for boys. From my experience there, Bar-O is easier.
      I have been back there to visit twice since 1975, once in 1984 and again in 2000 and I talked to the staff and was ask to speak to the group of boys that were there. I told the boys about my time there and my success after leaving and what I had done with my life since my four month stay there in 1975. I guess you could say it was a Pep talk.
      In a lot of ways Bar-O can make up for the lack of a father figure in boys lives and get them pointed in the right direction to make something of their lives. It did for me

  21. Egypt Says:

    This is a neat sumayrm. Thanks for sharing!

  22. evelyn Says:

    My son will be transfer there this week , I am very nervous after reading the good and bad ….I am just hoping to save my son from the wrong choices his made , and help him grow to the wonderful man he will be !

    • Bayer Says:

      This is the best chance he could ever have.
      You can sleep well knowing that he’s there.

      • miguel ceja Says:

        Hi mr. Bayer i just read your post today. Thanx for your reply im very happy to hear from you. However i was sadden when i read say hello to robert. He lassed away in ’99. I had wrote mr. Smith in 2000 n told him about his death. I was in ya when he died. I miss bar o n hope to make it to a skunk festival. Take care n i hope your good n your family aswell

      • Anonymous Says:

        Miguel,
        Very sad to here about the vampy. We went through some tough times together. I came close to shipping his ass the first day he showed up. First day of skunk that year. I would like to think that I
        helped your brother grow up a bit & helped him find the man within himself, so he could survive. That was my mission for all of the bunkys. Particularly Table II. They almost always gave me the vatos when they showed up. North & South, sitting at the same table, eating the same food. Actually, a lot easier than YA. Had some real
        criminals on my caseload down there. I feel bad that you had to experience la pinche pinta after the ranch. You were damn sure the best Lawn Boy Ever. Via Con Dios, Mijo. – Bayer

  23. Mark F Munden Says:

    I was sent to Bar O in 1978. Not as bad as it could of been. Very structured but all in all I learned a lot. Couple of fist fights took place while there but nothing different from juvenile hall.

  24. Anonymous Says:

    I was recently at BARO back in November 2016 and that place is no “rehabilitation center” BARO is very racist on top of many other things ! There were times I was falsley accused of doing things such as stealing, fighting, and “disrespecting staff” just because of my skin color.

    • Anonymous Says:

      They must not have thought you were too bad, since you have to prove yourself to get out. I’m sure playing the race card didn’t help you too much in there. I was in there 40 years ago and skin color didn’t hold an ounce of weight. If you were a screw up you paid the price, no matter what your skin color was. Sounds like you still have some growing up to do. Maybe you should have stayed a while longer…

    • Anonymous Says:

      Definitely were racist most of the time

  25. Anonymous Says:

    I was at baro 2 year ago , did less then a year. peace of cake its Disney land compared to where some of us people should have been

  26. Anonymous Says:

    . I was there when 3 people ran away and Everyone got punished for that bullshit like we was suppose to know they where going to run away , baro taught me alot but for reasons like that the whole group being punished i just wanna say fuck bar o Shoutout T tho that’s my nigga and mr hernandez

    • Anonymous Says:

      That’s called corporate punishment. You see it in the military. Since it’s a state run institution, what else would you expect.

Leave a Reply

