The Freedom of Speech in Humboldt County story

Peace be with you

54954.3. (a) Every agenda for regular meetings shall provide an opportunity for members of the public to directly address the legislative body on any item of interest to the public, before or during the legislative body’s consideration of the item (c) The legislative body of a local agency shall not prohibit public criticism of the policies, procedures, programs, or services of the agency, or of the acts or omissions of the legislative body. The Brown Act

When I had borrowed $5 to buy last weeks Supes meeting video today, I expected to have the usual lag of two or three days before I would receive it.  The clerk told me she had an already burned copy as, “it was a popular meeting.”  I later learned from a friend, that heard from a friend, that I was mentioned in the North Coast Journal.  It’s good to have friends who read.

This is what Hank Sims wrote in his Town Dandy column:

“But then the board took up a somewhat routine matter authorizing a renegotiated contract with a Del Norte County boy’s ranch that takes in some Humboldt County juvenile offenders, and everything went south. Arcata house-free activist Tad Robinson berated the board for making him wait through the other items to address this matter, which he likened to slave labor and other injustices. (I can’t recall if he made it to the Nazis this time.) Robinson was voluble. He refused to yield the podium when his time was up, and eventually Sheriff’s deputies arrived to take him out of the chambers in handcuffs.”

Mr. Sims called me “voluble.” Coming from a professional writer, and someone who knows words like voluble, even I am impressed with myself. But on the other hand, I hope he doesn’t believe that the nazis were the only, or even the first, to use slave labor.

I am, I suppose, facing charges of some kind or another. I haven’t set up a legal defense yet, and don’t know exactly what I am being charged with. The meeting video is public domain though. You can go to the county clerks office and for five bucks get the video of the morning session of the January 27, Board of Supervisors meeting. I need to cut out the part where I am speaking, and post it on you tube to link it here. Evidently they play it on TV, but I’ve only seen myself when this kind of shit happens.

The interesting thing of all about this busted for “refus[ing] to yield the podium when [my] time was up” bullshit is that at 1:15 into my speaking Jimmy Smith sends Phillip Crandall to fetch the cops. If you watch the video you will hear me say, “pay attention, Jimmy.” At that moment Jimmy Smith is hanging so over the dias communicating with Phillip Crandall that I’m afraid the old coot is going to do a header onto the floor. If you get to see the video you will see Crandall come in from the hallway after I get done speaking. I have another video that shows Crandall’s involvement much better.

The Po Po were on their way long before I made any breach of the official podium yielding rule. Of course, Crandall’s hysterical waving the cops on in the hallway aside, the cops had no reason to eject me from a public meeting.

I never plan to get thrown in jail, though I always plan on firmly standing my ground. It takes a little time to figure out the best way to proceed. But rest assured I intend to include you in on the ride. At this point I am to be arraigned on March 10th, at 1:30 pm, I invite anyone who wishes to to attend my court appearances to do so. In fact if you haven’t seen what goes on in the court rooms, I suggest you pick a case and follow it. It is quite an eyeopener.

love eternal
tad

9 Responses to “The Freedom of Speech in Humboldt County story”

  1. transient Says:

    well shit…stupid pigs.
    sounds like you might have touched a sore spot there…i hope that i can make it to the court trial…can you post what you are be arraigned for? What is the name of the charge? possible penalty? probably just a fine, right? …i would like to see the video too…just logged on for a minute, will look for it later…

    seems like if they fetched the cops before your time was up, then they were INTIMIDATING you in an effort to coerce you into surrendering your allotted “free speech” time, thus possibly causing delays and neccessitating a longer time at the podium.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Perhaps it would have gone better had you not constantly been yelling “f’ing nazi skinhead” at the deputies.

  3. theplazoid Says:

    Peace be with you Anonymous

    But they are! What you want me to lie.

    It only would of gone “better” if Smith didn’t have a different set of rules for those who dissent. But, as long as the fascist Supe calls the fucking skinhead nazis every time someone disagrees with his nazi police state building plans, and if we wish to continue as a free people, we must expect some patriots NOT TO COOPERATE! with the pigs. Yes if you would return my stolen freedoms, if you would stop drugging those you believe “undesirable,” if you stop building prisons and creating bullshit victimless class based crimes to fill them with, if you stop hiring pigs for their aggressiveness and low IQ, if you would stop targetting the poor with those pigs, if you allow all voices as much consideration as you do the rich and the powerful, and if the cops didn’t have skinheads, then I might not consider the cops fucking skinhead nazis.

    You might think their policing tactics are created at College of the Redwoods, but everyone else knows they brought it home after world war two under the code name Operation Paperclip. There are way to many similarities between Nazi Germany, and Nazi USA to go into now. It might make a good post. As you give blind support and obedience to the police state paradigm remember Hitler had his supporters too.

    love eternal
    tad

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I was told that “something” happened to the audio and the meeting might not be on TV. Good one! The audio is just fine on the CD though so how could that be?

  5. theplazoid Says:

    peace be with you Anonymous

    I hadn’t heard that. None of my friends own TVs so I have know way of knowing what they might of edited out. I too found the audio fine on the dvd. That’s how I know what voluble means. I would be interested to know if they are “editing” public comment.

    They should put the meetings on the internet. One thing I know for sure is they don’t believe in transparency, and both Smith and the supe formally known as Geist try very hard to make addressing them difficult for me.

    love eternal
    tad

  6. The Noble Lie Says:

    Tad –

    Where do you get a hold of these discs?

    I emailed you about this but I would be happy to help you put that meeting online. And who knows, maybe all of em. If they are released in DVD format, that’s easy enough to get going.

    We shall see one way or another how committed our local officials are to transparency.

  7. theplazoid Says:

    Peace be with you noble

    Sorry about your e-mail. I don’t usually look in the spam folder. I moved your e mail to the inbox, so now it shouldn’t consider you spam. That said, you can purchase any board of supes meeting for $5.00 per disk at the county clerks office on the first floor of the court house in Eureka.

    If you made $90,000 off of me, would you really want me to know you are nothing more then a yes man for the pharmaceutical, and prison industries? I read your blog, http://noblelie.com/, and know you know better then to believe there is any transparency in government. But yes, your help would be greatly appreciated.

    love eternal
    tad

  8. "HENCHMAN OF JUSTICE" Says:

    Streaming video?

    However, it does not appear to function most likely because software is not provided for ALL users of ANY and ALL computers from ANY and ALL locations, including a public facilities.

    Jeffrey Lytle
    McKinleyville – 5th District

  9. "HENCHMAN OF JUSTICE" Says:

    Someone will have to see if the current streaming works during the next meeting. Apparently, the archived now works on my computer when it did not last month.

    Jeffrey Lytle
    McKinleyville – 5th District

Leave a Reply

