Who Says Eureka Busyness Owners aren’t Bigots?

Peace be with you

The following form is one Eureka busyness owners use to target people they don’t want to be allowed on public streets.  If anyone gets harassed in the downtown area it would be interesting to subpoena these forms and see who the real bigots are.  I’m not really sure that “in front of businesses” on a public sidewalk really constitutes “trespassing.”  But I wonder if the busyness owners teach their children to “if ye forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”

love eternal
tad

9 Responses to “Who Says Eureka Busyness Owners aren’t Bigots?”

  1. jason Says:

    Right on!

    It is about time someone does something to end the aggressive panhandling around here.

    Social programs YES!
    Career begging NO!

    Calling these business owners bigots is an insult to those who really suffer from bigotry.

  2. just a thought Says:

    Last week I saw one of these fine upstanding citizens urinating on an the front of a local business in Eureka. I stopped the car and let him know what I thought about it. I guess I’m a bigot too!

  3. theplazoid Says:

    Peace be with you

    “I guess I’m a bigot too!

    If you say so, but I do the same thing. I do however agree with the supreme court that vagrancy laws are unconstitutional and as enforced in Humboldt county are class bigotry. I also think stereo-typing all homeless as the busyness owner or sheriff you saw wizzing on the busyness is bigotry. I also think “your kind is not allowed here” policies are bigotry. But if you feel you’re a bigot because you attempted to stop a crime and keep the killer cops out of it, its your call.

    love eternal
    tad

  4. Me Says:

    You always were a poor speller. It’s “business” not “busyness”. Busyness is to be busy all of the time. 🙂

    I think the issue at hand really depends on what one’s idea of “loitering” is. If someone is standing there for five minutes, or just walking by, is that loitering?

    Also, someone’s definition of “causing problems” could be looking through the window wrong, which could be ridiculous.

    Some business owners may be far too nit-picky and start filling out those forms just because someone they don’t like happens to stop and say hi to someone in front of their business. I could see this getting out of hand quickly. Just another excuse for the cops to tazer someone.

  5. theplazoid Says:

    Peace be with you me

    Yes, I always was/am a poor speller, but I spell busyness the way I do on purpose. Its the whole western idea of need for a jobe (spell it that way because that’s how the christians pronounce it) and non-needed busyness. Is live sustainable because some ex-dope grower now owns a bric-a-brac shop in Arcata?

    Is this the me who I think it is? If so have you seen Naomi Klein the take? That is my version of business.

    love eternal
    tad

  6. Me Says:

    It’s me with an “ie”, not sure if that’s who you thought it was. Write me an e-mail sometime if you still have an account. 🙂

    The link you posted didn’t work, but I did some research and that is amazing. I think it’s great that the workers pulled together for a common cause and are able to keep the businesses alive even though the owners brought them down to bankruptcy.

    It shows that even without authority, a community is able to form and thrive for the common good of mankind.

  7. Tom Sebourn Says:

    Where should the homeless go?

  8. just a thought Says:

    “Where should the homeless go?”

    Right back from where they came from! Few are our local neighbors who really need our help. Instead, there is “something about Humboldt” that attracts them.

    Think about it. . .

  9. theplazoid Says:

    Peace be with you just a thought

    Humboldt County has about as many homeless as the national average says we should have, but being a small county with a devastated logging industry, I agree we probably make more homeless then our existing per capita homeless count. What are your plans to attract the run-off homeless back?

    The only “something about Humboldt” is ignorance and bigotry. Police intentionally keep homeless moving, and every town in America is claiming “these ain’t our homeless, they came from somewhere else.” Well these Homeless sure as shit came from somewhere. We all know the County code enforcers made a couple of dozen people homeless, as I am sure minimum wage employers, high rent landlords, and closed shops have too.

    When you become homeless in the town you used to work in you quickly learn that the cops, and the poverty pimps have their own agenda and your welfare is not part of it. You move on hoping to find a kinder people, but its the same old “send ’em back where they came from” bullshit.

    The homeless are here! There numbers are growing! And there is no – nil- absolutely none – proof that we have more then our fair share of homeless, in fact all studies show that larger cities have far more then their share. I think you need to “thought” a little deeper then the bigotry and ignorance from which you base your “just a thought.”

    love eternal
    tad

Leave a Reply

